Resources‎ > ‎Best Practices‎ > ‎

Facebook Cuts Privacy Feature - Opens Search

posted Oct 11, 2013, 8:17 AM by Sherbeam Wright   [ updated Oct 11, 2013, 8:22 AM ]
You know that privacy setting that allows Facebook users to limit who can find them through Facebook search? Facebook announced yesterday that they are getting rid of this feature, “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” 

If you have never used the feature, it has probably already been removed. If you currently use it, it is going away very soon.

For the individual user, this would make keeping a low profile from the outside world more difficult and time consuming. Users would have to set the audience for each blog post and may have to change privacy settings for older posts.

For the communications professional, this change could make learning about and reaching targeted audiences easier, and will very likely mean more data and analytics for Facebook -- which will be passed along to marketers for a price.

Something to think about...

As social and legal justice organizations trying to bridge the gap between email, social and real world connections...

As leaders trying to move the needle, educate and advance justice...

What, if anything, will you do in light of these changes?


Facebook's blog post: http://bit.ly/1adj3IZ
Comments